VCL Vintners



Diageo announces phased re-opening of distilleries to visitors

Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Diageo announces phased re-opening of distilleries to visitors

Photo Credit: The National

The company’s network of 12 Scotch whisky distillery brand homes across Scotland have been closed throughout the Covid-19 lockdown, and now in line with Scottish Government guidance Diageo plans to gradually begin welcoming back visitors.

Blair Athol Distillery and Oban Distillery will be the first to open, with the former welcoming the public today and the latter providing tours again from Wednesday.

Cardhu Distillery, Dalwhinnie Distillery, Singleton of Glen Ord Distillery and Royal Lochnagar Distillery will reopen their retail spaces and offer limited whisky masterclasses as of Monday, August 3.

The same venues will then fully reopen a week later.

No date has been set yet for the reopening of Caol Ila Distillery and Lagavulin Distillery on Islay, and Talisker Distillery on the Isle of Skye.

These will be subject to future announcements depending on local circumstances in these island communities. Cragganmore Distillery in Speyside will also open at a later date.

Industry News Highlights