The Dalmore distillery is located in Alness, the Highland region of Scotland. It was founded by an entrepreneur called Alexander Matheson and began production in 1839.
About Dalmore Distillery
The distillery is still active and is now owned by Whyte & Mackay. The current capacity is 4,200,000 litres and its’ water source is salt water from the river Alness that runs through the village, where the distillery is located.
The Dalmore stag logo has an interesting history dating back to 1263. Colin of Kintail, the chief of clan Mackenzie, saved King Alexander III from a charging stag. Among other things, the right to use a 12 pointed Royal stag as their clan crest was awarded to them by the King. Alexander Matheson later sold the Dalmore distillery to Charles and Andrew Mackenzie who brought with them the iconic stag logo as they were members of clan Mackenzie. In 1917 the Royal Navy began to produce deep sea mines on the land next to the distillery. In 1920 a mine detonation accident lead to a huge explosion and fire which destroyed most of The Dalmore distillery. Up to 1960 The Dalmore distillery was family owned until it was sold to one of their main customers, Whyte & Mackay.
Dalmore Distillery Details
Scotland, United Kingdom
Whyte & Mackay
Number of Stills
4 wash, 4 spirit
Characteristics of Dalmore Distillery
Showing all 7 results